Skip to main content Skip to main navigation

Bates, Mason


2 websites in 2 archived websites.

Scope and Contents

The website contains a biography of the artist, information about his compositions and projects, a calendar of his events, press relating to Bates and his works, and examples of his music in the form of embedded audio and video files. The compositions featured on the site highlight his work as a DJ and composer of music that integrates electronic music with classical and opera. Capture of the site began in April 2014. This description is based on the January 2018 capture of the site.

Philharmonia Fantastique: The Making of the Orchestra is a concerto and animated film written by Mason Bates. The project explores the various instrument families of the orchestra and how they interact. The website contains a description of the project, a list of upcoming performances, educational resources, and audio samples of orchestral instruments.


New site crawls are accrued annually.


Robots.txt (a piece of code designed to limit crawler activity within a website) was ignored. Crawl was limited to domains and subdomains of in order to remain within the collection scope and data constraints.

Works pages on the site were not captured due to technological constraints.

Fales Library and Special Collections
Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
70 Washington Square South
2nd Floor
New York, NY 10012